Queensland shuts out Greater Sydney following COVID-19 outbreak

Residents from Greater Sydney will be banned from entering Queensland from the weekend, the Queensland government has revealed.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced five million Sydneysiders will not be allowed into the state effective from 1am on Saturday, after adding Greater Sydney to the list of declared coronavirus hotspots.

Greater Sydney includes 34 local government areas.

“There has been more outbreaks in other parts of Greater Sydney,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“That will now become a COVID declared hotspot.”

“We have done this to ensure we give notice to Queenslanders who may want to return home.”

“Queenslanders should not be travelling to Sydney.

Queenslanders returning will be required to enter self-funded hotel quarantine for two weeks when the new measures come into force.

Non-Queensland residents will be turned away at the border.

On Wednesday, a further 19 COVID-19 cases were confirmed in New South Wales as suburbs in Sydney’s east emerged as further potential cluster locations.

Queensland has two new cases.

Two 19-year-old women tested positive south of Brisbane after being in the community for eight days after returning from Melbourne.

New South Wales Premier Gladys Berejiklian said she did not have prior notice of the decision.

“It would’ve been nice if she told me, but that’s fine,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“I note that the cases they have had up there announced today are all from Victoria.”

“In the end it hurts the smaller states when they don’t interact with New South Wales.”

Tagged under

Leave a Reply